This Is What I Think Of Your Gold Star

For those of you that don’t know, a “Gold Star” lesbian is one that has never been with a man.  Many Gold Stars wear this as a badge of honor.

And I think that’s fucking stupid.

It’s really great that you already knew who you were at a younger age than most of us.  Or it might be that you never had the opportunity (I’m sure someone will berate me for that comment).  But I can’t stand when a Gold Star acts like they’re some higher class of lesbian just because they’ve never “tainted” themselves by being in heterosexual relationships (etc).  Sorry I wasn’t comfortable with my identity until I was out on my own, in college.  My bad that I never learned that it was OKAY to be gay, and that it took me longer to say “I don’t care what other people are thinking and saying is right- I like ladies!” I made some mistakes in high school and the beginning of college, until I finally found my way to being comfortable the way I am.  And that doesn’t make me any less of a person, just because I was confused at one point.  It definitely doesn’t make you any better of a person to rub your Gold Star status in the face of any lesbian that ever questioned her sexuality.  That shit’s not cool, man.

Anybody else experience these girls?

4 thoughts on “This Is What I Think Of Your Gold Star

  1. Pingback: The Dark Ages: Part 1 « Her Gay Agenda

What do you think?

