Ignorant Shit #2: [NSFW]

It’s about that time again! There’s a couple questions that I get that are typically grouped together, and I really wanted to talk about them.  I’m talking, of course, about questions regarding lesbian sex.

Well THAT got your attention, didn’t it?

I was going to touch on this eventually anyways, but then I came across this thread on Reddit, and I couldn’t help but start my rant before I even clicked “Add New Post.” If you didn’t click that link, the OP apparently always gets the question “How does it taste?” I think we all catch her drift, we’re all adults here, we know what they mean.  I couldn’t believe someone would ask that, and I have never received that particular question.  So I asked my girlfriend, who apparently gets that one on a consistent basis, along with “If lesbians don’t like penises, then why do they use strap-ons?” I can’t believe this is a thing people ask.  First off, that’s making the assumption that all lesbians use strap ons, which is untrue.  Second, I can’t think of any better way to put it than what user Aefishm said: “We don’t like dildoes because they’re shaped like penises; we like them because they’re shaped like the inside of a pussy.”

I think the most common question we all get is “How do lesbians have sex?” Or, I’ve even gotten “Yeah, but you’re not actually having sex- lesbians can’t have sex.”

WHAT???

Listen, I’m not going to teach anyone about sex here.  Although I’m a huge proponent of sex education, especially inclusive sex education, in schools.  But I’m not your fucking sex ed teacher.

Just like any straight couple, there are various ways lesbians have sex.  And yet I would never ask you about them.  I would also never ask you why you use a particular sex toy you might be into, and I would absolutely NEVER EVER EVER ask you what a penis tastes like. Would you go up to any of your straight acquaintances (I say this because people that ask these questions typically aren’t very close to me), and ask, “how does your boyfriend’s dick taste?” Lemme answer that for you: NO. You wouldn’t. I guarantee it.  And why? Because you’d feel uncomfortable, and it wouldn’t be considered to be socially acceptable.  You just wouldn’t ask someone you barely knew about their sex life. Unless they were a lesbian, apparently. So why do so many straight people think that it’s acceptable to ask lesbians questions that objectify their sexuality as if it’s some type of novelty?

One thought on “Ignorant Shit #2: [NSFW]

  1. ahhhh these are such obnoxious questions! I am very glad no one has asked me that in a very very long time.

    My name is S. Rischa Gottlieb. I am a lesbian doing research in our community. This study is gender and cigarette, alcohol and marijuana use in women (trans-inclusive) over the age of 18 who identify as lesbian bisexual or queer (LBQ). Getting involved in research is important to me because providers use studies like this one to make decisions about our health care.
    I was hoping that you would be able to help make more LBQ women aware of this study by blogging, facebooking, emailing or talking about the study. The study is, anonymous 25-minute survey can be completed by going to http://www.lbqresearch.wordpress.com

    Cheers and With Pride,
    Rischa Gottlieb

What do you think?

