Do Celebrities Really Need To Come Out?

I’m sure you watched The Golden Globes Sunday night, or, as someone that reads my blog, you’re probably also someone that is already aware of Jodie Foster’s amazing speech at the awards show.  As the clips of all her movies are playing, my girlfriend goes “Come on, Jodi- can’t you just announce you’re gay to everyone?!” Of course, everyone already knows, but for whatever reason we really wanted her to specifically address it.  And at that moment, Jodi says:

“While I’m here being all confessional, I guess I just have a sudden urge to say something that I’ve never really been able to air in public… So, a declaration that I’m a little nervous about, but maybe not quite as nervous as my publicist right now.”

And the room went silent.  We were clutching eachother’s hands telling everyone to shut up.  “THIS IS IT!!” I screamed.

“…But you know I’m just going to put it out there, right? Loud and proud, right? So I’m going to need your support on this — I am single.”

jodi foster golden globes

I died.  I thought that was absolutely amazing.  I love when celebrities make light of their own controversies.  Then she said something like “I did my coming out a thousand years ago” And it really hit me when she mentioned how she didn’t think she’d have to keep doing it for the rest of her life, to everyone that she ever met.  I thought “yeah- that’s really a drag.  It was hard enough the first time!” More on that another day.

Then I realized, even though we (as a community- don’t lie and say you didn’t) really wanted that “confession”, who are we to demand it from her?  She was so spot on when she said: “But seriously, if you had been a public figure from the time that you were a toddler, if you’d had to fight for a life that felt real and honest and normal against all odds, then maybe then you too might value privacy above all else.” I think her acknowledgement of her (ex)partner and their sons was good enough for me.  But everyone else seems to be up in arms. But, why?

I think we are so concerned with having more people on our side that we forget what’s really important.  Would more famous and well revered people in our corner help our cause for equality? Maybe.  But at what cost? It’s not our place to say that everyone needs to come out, for our sake.  These people have it hard enough being in the spotlight. Especially someone like Jodie Foster, who’s been famous since she was 3 years old. We can’t blame other people’s close mindedness and bigotry on the fact that some celebrities don’t make it a point to tell everyone about their sexuality.

What did you think about her now infamous speech?

For those of you that haven’t watched it/ whoever wants to revisit it:

8 thoughts on “Do Celebrities Really Need To Come Out?

  1. her speech ROCKED! when you meet her let her know that I too am…..

    SINGLE & would love to talk to her about her work. :oD
    seriously though

    • I loved it. When I first was watching I was kind of like.. “what’s going on, why is she still talking?” Then I watched it again to write this, and I just adored it.I always thought she was awesome, and I thought everything she said was just great.

  2. In a perfect world (ie one with total equality)i might be tempted to agree with you. However, that is not the case and thus i believe well respected, famous people do have a degree of socual responsibility to acknowlege their identity. First of all, why wouldn’t you? Saying who you are isn’t a huge intrusion of privacy. Secondly, having well respected ppl come out does a lot to dispell hate and bad stereotypes.

  3. Also, by choosing to be famoys (one does in fact choose to be a blockbuster movie star) you in effect are agreeing to give up a certain level of privacy

  4. Pingback: You Didn’t Know? I’m Super Gay. « Her Gay Agenda

What do you think?

